BCC honors outstanding students

-A A +A
By Staff Brunswick Beacon

Brunswick Community College celebrated outstanding student accomplishments at its annual Celebration of Champions on Friday, May 2.

The recognition program acknowledges the hard work of more than 100 students in various academic programs.

BCC President Dr. Stephen Greiner began the program by welcoming everyone and recognizing the faculty for helping the students succeed.

Sharon Thompson, vice president for academic services, introduced each department and the lead instructor of each department spoke about their nominated students.

The following students were honored:

Aquaculture technology: Chelsea McDougall

Associate degree nursing: Cynthia Gray and Misty Burkhatter

Associate in arts: Savanna Winders

Associate in science: Daniel Jaramillo

Basic law enforcement training: Carlos Melgar

Business administration: Anita Hartsell and LaToya Young

Computer programming: John Bolduc

Cosmetology: Marcia Torres

Esthetics: Brooke Nelson-Mangum

Early childhood education: Jordan Anderson, Deborah Jenrette, Marie Burton, Chasity Johnson, Sarah Fowler, Gina Leadman, Andrea Frink, Kateisha McCray, Barbara Housand and Kellie Wrenn

Health information technology: Alecia Long and Katrina Inman

Presidential Award: Amber Rivenbark, Stephanie Rudloff, Brittany Silverwind and Katie Tartt

Horticulture technology: Kristen Walter and Leah Baker

Office systems technology: Amy Turner

Practical nursing: Roger Lockshier

Small business entrepreneur: Susan Stanley

Turfgrass management technology: Greg Stevens, Allen Cole and Justin Critcher

Continuing education and workforce: Joan Elder, Dawna A. Genander and Elizabeth Jackowski

Academic excellence: Savanna Winders and Sherry McCabe

Luca Pacioli Accounting Award: Kim M. Thomas

June Shaner Courageous Achievement Award: Victoria Petron

Foundation scholarships were awarded to the following:

Mary Baldwin, Heather Bates, Ellis Bevel,Victoria Bland, Jennifer Blue, Kayla Bryant, Misty Burckhalter, Angela Caison, Sheila Carroll, Anna Clark, Shani Clark Myriam Conley, Kristen Cully, Joan Elder, Shannon Franks, Patrice Frink, Lettie Gore, Courtney Grant, Edward Grissett, Clayton Hailey, Amanda Hardee, Tammy Harrison, Joshua Hatcher, Jessica Hewett, Rachel Hewett, Robin Hewett, Katherine Hibbard, Brenna Hightower, Casey Inman, Brandon Isenhour, Joycette Jackson, Amanda Keaton, Elizabeth Keel, Ursula Kennedy, William Kinlaw, Stephanie Kirby, Kelli Lancaster, Ashlie Long, Ponee Lowery, Taira McTurner, Miranda Mills, Crystal Mintz, Whitney Montgomery, Bronwyn Moore, Thomas Moore, Marcie Murray Courtney Norris, Jessica Perry, Michael Presson, Willie Randolph, Amanda Reynolds, Brooke Roberts, Cajita Smith, Heather Smith, Michelle Smith, Cody Soots, Leslie Stackhouse, Anna Stallings, Diandra Stanley, Pamela Stone, Crystal Thompson, Kristen Turner, Edith Urbina, Gene Uzdienski, Jennifer Uzdienski, Jesse Vipperman, Zachary White, Chris Williamson and Nathan Woodbury.