Brunswick Beacon Tournament of Champions begins Saturday at Sea Trail

-A A +A
By Staff Brunswick Beacon

The 2008 Brunswick Beacon Tournament of Champions will be played Saturday and Sunday on the Maples Course at Sea Trail.

In this invitational event, club champions from area courses will play two days of stroke play. The champions, both men and women, must have won their championship in either match play or stroke play competition without handicaps. Net champions are not eligible.

“This is the fifth year that the Brunswick Beacon has hosted this event,” said Scott Harrell, publisher of the Beacon. “The excitement over the Tournament of Champions grows each year, and we start getting questions about it each spring. Our local club champions tell us that it’s the highlight of the year for them.

“I expect this year’s event will be as exciting as last year’s tournament when two lady champions, Dale Calhoon of Brick Landing and Mona Dye of Brierwood, tied and returned on Monday for a sudden-death playoff. Calhoon won on the second hole. As always, we are proud to sponsor this event.”

“Sea Trail is thrilled to host the Tournament of Champions for the third year in a row,” said Tom Plankers, vice president of Golf at Sea Trail. “The Maples Course is in excellent shape now and we should have some really good golf this weekend. The Beacon started a ‘Cheer for Your Champ’ promotional this year and we expect that a lot of people will come out and watch the tournament this year.”

Golfers are able to play a practice round during the week prior to the championship. There is a pairings party on Friday for competitors and their guests. Play begins at noon Saturday and again at noon Sunday. Players will be double-teamed off front and back nines. There is an awards reception after the final round at the Maples clubhouse for all participants and their guests.

See list of participants, notables in the field and history below:

List of participants

Brick Landing: Norm Harding, Dale Calhoon

Brierwood: Chris Lane, Mona Dye

Brunswick Plantation: George Tuccinardi, Alcina Davis

Carolina National: Mark Greenfield, Pat Schutzman

Carolina Shores: Gary Stewart, Judy Nicoletti*

The Lakes: Rick Weinacht, Shari Hodson

Lockwood Folly: Jerry Lyons, Ann Bailey

Magnolia Greens: Bill James, Pat Vlach

Meadowlands/Farmstead: Matt Palmer, Billie Elwanger

Oak Island Club: Tucker Pacula, Pam Huggins

Ocean Ridge: Richard O’Connor, Jean Maxon

Rivers Edge: Terry Sinay, Karen Blanchard

Sandpiper Bay: Bill Calhoun, Judy Nicoletti*

Sea Trail: Monte Beebe, Marti Kennedy

St. James: Peter Allen, Mary Barclay

*Won the 2008 Ladies Club Championship at Carolina Shores and Sandpiper Bay.

Notables in the field

Ann Bailey (Lockwood Folly). Bailey won her first club championship at age 14. Now she has won 45 championships at six clubs in three states. She also won the Maryland State Senior Women’s Championship twice. This is her fifth win at Lockwood.

Dale Calhoon (Brick Landing). Calhoon has won the Brick Landing Ladies Club Championship 10 years in a row.

Mona Dye (Brierwood). Dye tied for the Tournament of Champions in 2007 with Sandy Hulberg (The Lakes) and in 2007 with Dale Calhoon (Brick Landing). In 2006, a joint winner was declared. In 2007, Dye lost on the second hole of a sudden-death playoff. She won the Brierwood championship in 2006, 2007 and 2008. Before moving to Brunswick County, Mona won the Bucknell championship for nine years in a row.

Jean Maxon (Ocean Ridge). Maxon has won the Ocean Ridge Club Championship 10 years in a row.

Norm Harding (Brick Landing). Harding writes for The Brunswick Beacon and is its food columnist. This is his third year of winning at Brick Landing.

Mark Greenfield (Carolina National). First win at Carolina National. Two previous championships at Manchester CC in Connecticut and Indian Springs in N.J.

Bill James (Oak Island), Richard O’Connor (Ocean Ridge), Terry Sinay (Rivers Edge), Monte Beebe (Sea Trail) won their men’s club championships in 2007.

Bill Calhoun (Sandpiper Bay) won Sandpiper Bay men’s championship in 2006, 2007, and 2008.

Peter Allen (St. James). Allen’s first win at St. James. Past history: Won the Michigan Amateur, qualified for U.S. Senior Amateur.

Previous Winners of the Tournament of Champions

Women: 2004, Marie Strickler (Carolina Shores)

2005, Jeanne Maxon (Ocean Ridge)

2006, Mona Dye (Brierwoord) and Sandy Hulberg (The Lakes)

2007, Dale Calhoon (Brick Landing) on the second hole of a sudden-death playoff against Mona Dye (Brierwood)

Men: 2004, Richard Curwen (St. James)

2005, Bill Stanley (Carolina Shores)

2006, Bill Calhoun (Sandpiper Bay)

2007, Mike Verhoosky (Lockwood Folly)