Candidate filings open for 2008 election

-A A +A
By Staff Brunswick Beacon

Candidate filings have opened for the November 2008 election. Candidate filing opened at noon Monday, Feb. 11, and will close at noon Friday, Feb. 29.

At press time Tuesday, the following candidates filed for office:

N.C. State Senate

•R.C. Soles Jr. (incumbent), Democrat, Tabor City

•Bettie Fennell, Republican, Rocky Point

N.C. House of Representatives

(District 20)

•Dewey L. Hill (incumbent), Democrat, Lake Waccamaw

County Commissioner (District 3)

•May Moore (incumbent), Democrat, Oak Island

•Boyd Williamson, Democrat, Bolivia

County Commissioner (District 4)

•Tom B. Rabon (incumbent), Democrat, Winnabow

•Scott Edward Phillips, Republican, Leland

County Commissioner (District 5)

•Bill Sue (incumbent), Republican, Leland

Board of Education (District 1)

•Bud Thorsen, Republican, Shallotte

Board of Education (District 2)

•Christy Judah, Democrat, Supply

Board of Education (District 4)

•Harry Martin, Democrat, Southport

•Tom Simmons, Democrat, Southport

Register of Deeds

•Robert Robinson (incumbent), Democrat, Supply

U.S. Senate

•Duskin Lassiter, Democrat, High Point

U.S. House of Representatives

(District 7)

•Mike McIntyre (incumbent) Democrat, Lumberton

•Will Breazeale, Republican, White Lake


•E. Powers, Republican, Roseboro

•Fred Smith, Republican, Clayton


•Beth A. Wood, Democrat, Raleigh

Commissioner of Agriculture

•Ronnie Ansley, Democrat, Wake Forest

Commissioner of Labor

•Tyler Richardson, Democrat, Middlesex

•Cherie Berry, Republican, Newton

Superintendent of Public Instruction

•June St. Clair Atkinson, Democrat, Raleigh

Judge N.C. Court of Appeals

•John S. Arrowood (incumbent), Raleigh

Judge of N.C. Court

of Appeals

•Cheri Beasley, Fayetteville

•Doug McCullough (incumbent), Atlantic Beach

Judge of N.C. Court of Appeals

•Linda Stephens (incumbent), Raleigh

Judge of N.C. Court of Appeals

•John M. Tyson (incumbent), Fayetteville

Judge 13th District Court

•Scott L. Ussery, Elizabethtown

Judge 13th District Court

•Marion Roscoe Warren (incumbent), Ash