Education briefs

-A A +A

CCU presents awards at honors convocation
Coastal Carolina University presented awards for faculty and student academic achievement and recognition at its annual Honors Convocation on Friday, May 4, in Wheelwright Auditorium.
Departmental awards were presented to 42 students in recognition of outstanding academic accomplishments and contributions to the academic quality of their respective departments, including the Thomas W. and Robin W. Edwards College of Humanities and Fine Arts award in music to Haylie Long of Ash.

Local groups perform at Disney Theme Park
Students from Cedar Grove Middle School recently became stars of their own Disney show as part of the Disney Performing Arts Program.
Cedar Grove Middle School’s seventh- and eighth-grade chorus traveled to Epcot Center at Walt Disney World Resort in Florida to perform on April 12. The school’s symphonic band performed on April 11.
Dance groups, choirs, ensembles and marching bands from around the world apply to perform each year as part of Disney Performing Arts at both the Disneyland and the Walt Disney World Resorts. Once selected, they are given the opportunity to perform at the resort for an international audience of theme park guests. Millions of performers have graced the stages of the Disney Parks in the more than 25-year history of the program.
Disney Performing Arts offers band, choral, dance and auxiliary performers the opportunity to learn, perform and compete at Disney theme parks. For more information about this program, visit www.DisneyPerformingArts.com.

Ceremony bestows creative awards
Students and educators from six Brunswick County schools were honored at the fourth annual Excellence in Education awards dinner Thursday, May 10, at the Thalian Hall Ballroom. The unique awards dinner was sponsored by the North Brunswick Chamber of Commerce Education Committee and takes place annually to correspond with National Teacher Appreciation Week.
Eight students from northern area schools are nominated by their administration for excellence. In turn, each student identifies one teacher who has had the greatest impact on their lives. Students and their identified teacher both receive recognition during the awards dinner.
A special highlight of the evening is when students read original letters written to the teachers they have selected to honor. Guest speaker at this event was North Carolina Region 2 Teacher of the Year Melissa Warren.
The following students and teachers were recipients of this year’s awards:
Hope Hosford of Belville Elementary and teacher Nona Baker; Elijah Blue of Lincoln Elementary; Juan Guevara of Leland Middle and teacher Kirsti Meador; Salma Torres of Leland Middle and teacher Meggan Calderwood; Christopher Diaz of NBHS and teacher Bryan Hayes; Kaylee Shope of NBHS and teacher Leigh Robertson; Ariana Dudley of Town Creek Elementary and teacher Kimberly Nowlin; Robert Knapp of Roger Bacon Academy and teacher Lorraine Beadore; and Benjamin Lindsey of Roger Bacon Academy and teacher Geoff Gorski.