Filing for municipal elections now open

-A A +A
By Renee Sloan, Page Designer/Staff Writer

Candidate filings for the Nov. 5 municipal elections have opened as of noon Friday, July 5. Residents have through July 19 to seek office in those elections.

Alan Holden, the mayor of Holden Beach, was the first candidate to file at the Board Elections office last week. He is seeking re-election.

“If I am going to do it, I just want to go ahead and make everybody aware,” he said. “If anybody wants to join in the fray, they’ll know who their opposition is.”

Bill Browning, who filed for one of the three available seats on the Brunswick Regional Water and Sewer H2Go Commission, agreed.

“If you’re going to run, you need to show up and let everybody know you plan on running,” he said. “You don’t need to show up the last day if nobody else decides to run.”

Candidates may file for any of the 15 mayoral seats available, or any of the board seats in Brunswick County’s 19 incorporated towns.

Seats are also available in the sanitary districts and on the Dosher Hospital Board of Trustees.

Here are the filings as of press time Tuesday:

Bald Head Island

Mayor: None

Council (one seat): Joe Ridgeway


Mayor: None

Commissioner (two seats): None

Boiling Spring Lakes

Mayor: Charlie Carroll

Commissioner (two seats): Mary Stilwell


Mayor: None

Alderman (four seats): Warren L. Knox


Commissioner (three seats): None

Carolina Shores

Commissioner (two seats): None

Caswell Beach

Commissioner (two seats): George F. Kassler

Holden Beach

Mayor: Alan Holden

Commissioner (five seats): Ken Kyser


Mayor: Brenda Bozeman

Councilman (two seats): Grace Beasley and Pat Batleman


Mayor: Eulis “Scrap” Willis

Commissioner (two seats): Minnie A. Brown


Mayor: None

Councilman (three seats): None

Oak Island

Mayor: Betty W. Wallace

Councilman (two seats): Jim Medlin and Darrell A. Vickers

Ocean Isle Beach

Mayor: Debbie S. Smith

Commissioner (two seats): D.B. Grantham and Wayne Rowell

Sandy Creek

Mayor: None

Council member (two seats): None


Mayor: Walter Eccard

Aldermen (two seats): None


Mayor: Robert D. Howard

Aldermen (three seats: two in Ward 1, one in Ward 2): Nelson E. Adams (Ward 2) and Mary Ellen Watts Poole (Ward 1)

St. James

Council members (three seats): John F. Lewis Jr.

Sunset Beach

Mayor: Ron Watts

Councilman (three seats): Rich Cerrato


Mayor: None

Aldermen (two seats): None

Brunswick Regional Water and Sewer H2Go

Commissioner (three seats): Bill Browning, Bobby Johnston, Ronnie Jenkins and Larry Whitley

Southeast Brunswick Sanitary District

Commissioner (three seats): Robert R. Smith

Dosher Hospital Board of Trustees

Trustee (two seats): Robert Zukoski and Sherri Marshall

For more information about candidate filings or to see the updated list, go to the Brunswick County Board of Elections website, http://www.brunswickcountync.gov/Portals/0/BC/files/elections/boe_2013_Municipal_Candidates.pdf.


Renee Sloan is a staff writer for the Beacon. Reach her at 754-6890 or email her at rsloan@brunswickbeacon.com.