Milliken wins pole, races to victory July 19

-A A +A

 By Steve Zacharias

Special to the Beacon

MYRTLE BEACH, S.C. —  Justin Milliken won one of the two 50-lap Late Model races July 19 at Myrtle Beach Speedway. 

Eighteen Late Models were on hand, competing for $2,500, in the two 50-lap races in the NASCAR Whelen Late Models series.

In qualifying, a familiar trend for 2014 took place when Milliken set the

fast time. Matt Cox started from the outside pole for race one. The two have had an ongoing rivalry this year to the thrill of the fans and they wouldn’t disappoint on this night. As the green flag waved to begin race one, Milliken appeared to have the

stronger car and went on to win the event.

Cox  finished second. Ryan Glenski, Justin Sorrow (making his first trip to the track this year) and Brent Brinson finished in the top five.

The main event was the second 50-lap race. An eight-car inversion from race one reshaped the field. Payton Ryan, who swept the two races July 4, was back. He battled Cox late in the race and the two made contact, putting on a great finish.

Ryan crossed the line first ahead of Cox, Sam Yarborough, Milliken and Sorrow.

In the post race technical inspection, Ryan’s FHR-prepared car was found illegal because of an engine infraction on the lifters for the 603 crate. He was disqualified, giving  the win to Cox. With the victory, Cox cut the previous 13-point deficit to 0, leaving him and Yarborough tied for the points lead with four races remaining.

Glenski is third, 23 points back. The Late Models return to action Aug. 16.

Tempers from on-track altercations this year boiled over to the infield after the

races with two longtime rivals at the head of it all. Milliken and Cox

had some words before speedway personnel and crewmembers stepped in to break it up. The tension between the two may be at an all time high. With only two more weekends of racing left for the Late Models, it will interesting to see what happens next between these two competitors.

In Mini Stocks, the Fulford family winning streak came to an end when Tom Hutson passed Willie Fulford and went on to win the event. Fulford finished second.

Brother Adam was third, father Dub fourth and Mark Evans fifth in best finish of

the year.

Willie Fulford added to his points lead and now leads a tight points battle for second. Dub Fulford sits second, nine points behind his son. Adam Fulford

is 10 back in third and Hutson is 11 back. The Mini Stocks race again Aug. 2.

Eleven cars raced in the Charger division in their fourth race of

2014. In similar fashion to what he did a week ago, “Big Ed” Williams started on

 pole and never looked back in leading all 25 laps. Joseph Armakovitch was second.

Steve Jones, Andre Bauer and Jackie Ward finished in the top five.

Williams added to his points lead, 25 ahead of Steve Jones. “The Magnet” Eric Joyner is third,  trailing by 38 points.

In the PALM Vintage series, another double-digit car count was on hand to showcase

the classic rides while competing for the big trophy. Wade Skipper was the class of the field as he raced to victory.

For the schedule, race results and point standings in all divisions, go to www.myrtlebeachspeedway.com.