Milliken wins for third time at Myrtle Beach Speedway

-A A +A

By Bill Hennecy  
Special to The Beacon
MYRTLE BEACH, S.C.—Justin Milliken scored his third win of the season Saturday in the Whelen All-American Late Model series at the NASCAR-sanctioned Myrtle Beach Speedway.   
The Shallotte driver started on the front row and passed Georgetown’s Rick Smith, who started from the pole position, for the lead early. Jake Engle, now residing in Conway, S.C., after moving across country from El Cajon, Calif., was second. He moved past the current national points leader Anthony Anders of Easley, S.C., late in the race. Anders went on to finish third.
Mini-Stocks was won by Willie Fulford, of Shallotte, over current points leader in the four-cylinder division Michael McKinnon. Summerville, S.C., driver Gary Fulford had his best finish yet with a third-place run.
Dub Fulford, the multi-time champion in the division, was sidelined after a hard crash on the back straightaway. Fulford was uninjured in the wreck and greeted son Willie in victory lane. This makes the second time this season the Fulfords have crashed cars heavily. Adam Fulford, the current track champ in the division, was sidelined and did not start. He suffered a mechanical failure last week and did not start the race Saturday.
In the Charger division, Lucas Williams picked up his first win of the season over Kevin Barnhill, of Conway. Mark Hale was the third-place finisher.
It will be Food Drive Night at the track this Saturday night. Bring a non-perishable food donation and receive a $2 discount on a ticket into the grandstands. Saturday night racing will feature the Mini-Stocks, Chargers and Whelen All-American Late Models.

June 16 top finishers
Late Models (top 10): Justin Milliken, Jake Engle, Anthony Anders, Brent Brinson, Rick Smith, Randall Roberts, Sam Yarbrough, Jamey Lee, Matt Cox, Dal Wright.
Chargers: Lucas Williams, Kevin Barnhill, Mark Hale, Joe Armakovitch, Eric Joyner Cameron Harrington, Bryant Barnhill.
Mini-Stocks: Willie Fulford, Michael McKinnon, Gary Fulford, Randy Hewett, Eric McKinnon, David Ward, Dub Fulford, Craig Schiel.

Late Model: 1. Justin Milliken 171 (3 wins); Anthony Anders 128; Jamey Lee 124; Rick Smith 122; Sam Yarbrough 106; Jeremy McDowell 101 (1 win); Matt Cox 94; Jake Engle 94; Randall Roberts, 82; Brian Vause, 62.
Mini-Stock: Michael McKinnon, 98 (2 wins); Willie Fulford 69 (1 win); Adam Fulford 56; Eric McKinnon 56; A.J. Sanders 51 (1 win); Willie Fulford 50; Dub Fulford 48; Randy Hewett 42; Kevin Jackson 33 (1 win).
Chargers: Mark Hale 76 (2 wins); Joe Armakovitch 38; Eric Joyner 34; Scott Buff 32; Kevin Barnhill 31 (1 win); Lucas Williams 31 (1 win); Wade Skipper 25 (1 win).