South wrestlers win conference tournament

-A A +A
By Staff Brunswick Beacon

South Brunswick High School’s wrestling team had five individual champions and took first place in the Waccamaw 1A/2A Conference Tournament Saturday at Boiling Spring Lakes.

The Cougars won the four-team event with 172 points. Trask came in second with 142 points, followed by North Brunswick with 110 and Pender with 41.

South Brunswick senior Sammy Roundtree won the 130-pound title and tournament MVP honors.

Other champions for the Cougars were Jeromy Roundtree at 119 pounds, Charlie Martin at 125, Jonathan Marvin at 135 and Rick Logan at heavyweight.

South Brunswick also had six runners-up—Matt Craven at 103, Paul Ikalowych at 140, Kyle Kackenmeister at 145, Michael Fayak at 152, Stephen Fayak at 160 and David Cochran at 215.

North Brunswick’s conference champs were Nick Barnes in the 140-pound class and Bryant Burton at 215.

Runners-up for the Scorpions were James Fitzpatrick at 112, Victor Ramos at 125, Gabe Buenrostro at 135, Sean Cooper at 189 and Robert Irwin at heavyweight.

South Brunswick also won the conference’s regular-season championship and earned a No. 1 seed in this week’s state 2A dual team playoffs. The Cougars were scheduled to face Cardinal Gibbons in Tuesday’s opening round.

Waccamaw Conference

Wrestling Tournament

Team Standings

1. South Brunswick 172

2. Trask 142

3. North Brunswick 110

4. Pender 41

Individual Champions

Weight Wrestler School

103 Ralph Maryon Trask

112 Jorge Lopez Trask

119 Jeromy Roundtree S. Bruns.

125 Charlie Martin S. Bruns.

130 Sammy Roundtree S. Bruns.

135 Jonathan Marvin S. Bruns.

140 Nick Barnes N. Bruns.

145 Corey Royal Trask

152 Cory Love Trask

160 Terrence Luines Pender

171 Nate Longenboch Pender

189 Hunter Lanier Trask

215 Bryant Burton N. Bruns.

285 Rick Logan S. Bruns.

Championship Round

103: Maryon (T) def. M. Craven (SB) by disqualification; 112: Lopez (T) pin Fitzpatrick (NB), 4:19; 119: J. Roundtree (SB) dec. Lofton (T), 8-5; 125: Martin (SB) dec. Ramos (NB), 14-11; 130: S. Roundtree (SB) pin Baldwin (T), 1:27; 135: Marvin (SB) pin Buenrostro (NB), 1:43; 140: Barnes (NB) pin Ikalowych (SB), :29; 145: Royal (T) dec. Kackenmeister (SB), 9-0; 152: Love (T) pin M. Fayak (SB), 2:16; 160: Luines (P) dec. S. Fayak (SB), 9-6; 171: Longenboch (P) dec. Johnson (T), 3-2; 189: Lanier (T) pin Cooper (NB), 3:22; 215: Burton (NB) dec. Cochran (SB), 5-2; 285: Logan (SB) pin Irwin (NB), :31.