Squadron conducts Change of Watch

-A A +A

The Shallotte River Sail and Power Squadron conducted its annual Change of Watch ceremony at the Jasmine Restaurant at Brunswick Plantation on Friday, Jan. 20. This annual event is scheduled to mark the changeover of squadron officers and to recognize various individuals for their outstanding service. The squadron’s primary mission is to promote boating safety for the community by providing boating classes for those new to boating, as well as to more experienced boaters.
District Lt. Commander Harold O’Briant, JN, presided over the ceremony whereby incoming Commander Robert Morris, JN, replaced outgoing Commander Hugh Hayes, JN. Other incoming officers included: Executive Officer Lt. Commander Sara Hayes, JN; Educational Officer Lt. Commander Richard Smith, AP; Administrative Officer Lt. Commander Dan Bartell, SN; Secretary Lt. Commander Jane Morris; and Treasurer Past Commander Hugh Hayes.
Several additional awards were also presented, including: Hesser Award, to the individual(s) contributing the greatest service to the squadron: Lt. Bobby Brown, JN, and Lynda Brown, presented by Commander Hugh Hayes.
Education Award, for notable achievement in classes taken: Commander Robert Morris, JN, presented by Educational Officer Past Commander Dan Bartell.
Past Commander’s Award, to the new member who made the greatest contribution to the squadron over the past two years: John Allen, presented by the squadron’s Past Commanders, Dewey Adams presenting.