Yarbrough wins Myrtle Beach Speedway Championship

-A A +A
By Staff Brunswick Beacon

MYRTLE BEACH, S.C.—Shallotte driver Sam Yarbrough clinched the Late Model Stock Car championship Saturday night at Myrtle Beach Speedway.

Yarbrough drove conservative races in the final Whelen NASCAR Late Model Stock Car races of the season at the historic track. Yarbrough, driving his family-owned Late Model, made sure the championship would be his by finishing fifth in the first race and eighth in the second.

Yarbrough had five victories this season and led Rick Smith, the defending champion, by 40 points going into the final races. Smith finished third in the first race and seventh in the second race. Smith, who won four times this season, missed being a three-time champion by 34 points.

Rounding out the top five in points were Justin Milliken of Shallotte, Ryan Hall and Robert Elliott.

The winner of the first 40-lap race was Hall. Elliott won the second race.

In other races Saturday, David Hatchell won for the second time in Street Stocks. Points leader Thomas Poole was second, Dean Cumbee third, Kent Bellamy fourth and Clay Gossett fifth.

Poole, the defending points champion, leads Cumbee by 58 points for the season title.

In Mini-Stocks, Terry Evans won for the fourth time, finishing ahead of Dub Fulford, Lucas Williams, Mark Evans and Adam Fulford.

Dub Fulford leads Adam Fulford by 90 points for the season title.

In Limited Late Models, defending points champion Kevin Barnhill finished first for the fifth time. Randall Roberts was second, Tony Powell third, Sam Scarpelli fourth and Dal Wright.

Roberts leads Wright by 62 points for the season title.