Notable scores, highlights from area golf leagues

-A A +A
By Sam Hickman

 Results of recent events submitted by area golf leagues.



Results from Friday, Feb. 1, at Eastport (1-2-3 tournament). The team of Jim Beairsto, Andy Beairsto, John Beairsto and Bill Russell finished in first place with a 31-under 111. The team of Tom Culverwell, Scott MacBean, Jimmy Cecil and Dan O’Connor shot a 23-under 119 and tied the squad of Dennis Werner, Charlie Benedict, Ricky Rix and Culverwell (blind draw) for second-place honors. Rich Michaels posted an 80 and Russell an 86. Bill Nemeth and Walt Kolander each scored an 88. Russell carded a net 65 while Michaels, Ralph Thompson and John Beairsto each had a net 67. MacBean finished with a net 68 and Culverwell a net 69. Michaels earned golfer of the week honors.


Brick Landing Ladies

The Brick Landing Ladies Golf Association is accepting new members. Anyone interested does not have to live in Brick Landing to join the ladies’ golf group.

“We are a competitive handicapped league, but we are a fun group of ladies and always have a few laughs on Ladies Day. Our handicaps range from the low 20s to 40. Come join the fun,” league member Carol Ellis wrote in an email to the Beacon.

The 18-holers play a competition every Thursday morning, plus an individual shoot-out on Saturday morning. Each month, the group plays an “Away Day” tournament at another course in the area. 

There are other social events during the year for the ladies golf group including an annual overnight golf trip to places like Pinehurst and Litchfield (S.C.).       

The major tournaments during the year include the club championship, Member-Member, Match Play Championship and Member/Guest. You must be a member of the club to play in the club championship and the Member/Guest.   

For more information or to sign up for a membership, call membership chairwoman Sharon Deutsch at 754-7278 or overall chairwoman Keith Webb at 200-7852.


Brunswick Plantation MGA

Results from Jan. 27 at Brunswick Plantation. Forty-four players enjoyed warmer weather to compete in a game of 1-2-3 No Choice. The team of Andy Smyka, Wayne Lewis, Mickey Buchelt and Jim Kocsi won first place on the Dogwood/Azalea sides with a score of -16. The second-place team of Rich Dye, Bob Toeppner, Bob Kogler and John Scott finished one stroke back at -15. Al Sansone won the closest-to-the-pin challenge at Dogwood No. 4 with a tee shot to 16 feet. A match of cards determined the first-place winners on the Azalea/Magnolia sides. The team of Dan Giessing, Jerry Ingalls, Ed Teger and Al Haley finished in first place at -14 while the squad of Steve Siebert, Ray Wiltbank, Tom Kirkwood and Frank Suppa finished in second place. Dave LaClair won the closest-to-the-pin competition on Magnolia No. 4 with a tee shot to 3 feet from the cup.


Carolina Shores MGA

Results from Friday, Feb. 1, at Carolina Shores. The team of Vince Hammerl, Abe Glover, Jim Ratcliff and Ed Kerr posted a 106 to win a game of one net on par 5s, two nets on par 4s and three nets on par 3s. The second-place team of Pete Larkin, Bob Bosman, Chuck Karnolt and Ed Dupuis posted a 112. The team of Kim Roeder, Mal Mac Raild, Nick DePalo and Jim Burke fired a 118 edged the squad of Kerry Jarrell, Keith Rogerson, Mike Donahue and Joe Gallo for third place on a match of cards. The team of Arnie Northrop, Dick Boyle, Jack Bendy and Pat Egan posted a fifth-place finish. Kerr won the closest-to-the-pin game on No. 3 with a tee shot to 5 feet, 6 inches from the cup. DePalo won the challenge on No. 7 with a tee shot to 2 feet, 3 inches from the flagstick. Kerry also won the challenge on No. 12 with a tee shot to 8 feet, 3 inches and Bosman was closest to the pin on No. 17 with a tee ball to 14 feet, 7 inches from the hole.


Crow Creek WGA

Results from Jan. 29 at Crow Creek. The game was “It ALL Counts” in which players counted net score plus putts for a total score. Donna Moetsch won Flight 1 with a 95. Terri Crowley finished in second place with a 101 and Helga Dopson third with a 104. Anna Merritt and Ginny Ridinger tied for first place in Flight 2 with a 106. Linda Gregory finished in second place in Flight 2 with a 107. Sue Nordberg won Flight 3 with a 104 while Joan Zimmerman finished in second place with a score of 112. Judy Zaenglein and Marley Cohen tied for third place in Flight 3 as each player finished with a 116. Ingrid Fallon won Flight 4 with a 108 and Angela Callahan finished in second place with a 111. Lani Woolcott posted a third-place ledger with a 114. Moetsch birdied No. 11 and Linda Pillion recorded a birdie on No. 13. Liz Fox and Woolcott each birdied No. 16. Dopson won the closest-to-the-pin challenge on No. 8 and Pillion on No. 13.


Golden Swingers

Results from Friday, Feb. 1, at Heathland. Team Hogan winner was the team of Art Williams and Gary Cohen. Team Palmer winner was the squad of Jim Smyka and Don McVeigh with a score of +11. Ed Lochinger and Chip Hopkins were Team Furyk winners at +8 ½, while Smyka won Hogan Division honors at +10 ½. Dan Boarman finished in second place at +8 ½. Palmer Division winners were Joe McCabe in first place with a +6 ½ ledger. Tom Elias finished in second place with a +5 mark. Jim Smyka was closest to the pin on No. 3 with a tee shot to 2 feet, 6 inches from the cup. Andy Smyka was closest to the pin on No. 8 with a tee shot to 7 feet, 3 inches from the hole. John Davison won the closest-to-the-pin game on No. 12 with a tee ball to 7 feet, 5 inches from the flagstick. Jim Crews won the challenge on No. 17 with a tee ball to 4 feet, 1 inch from the hole.


Sea Trail MGA

Results from Jan. 29 on the Jones course (two-man team alternate shot, net ball). Bill Huxley and Larry Hershoff took top honors in the A flight (-7). Runner-up was Phil Brown and Fran Conway (-5). Third place went to Pete Brockway and Dan Northrup (-3) followed by John Barton and Wayne Hellmann (-2). The twosome of Gene Scheck and Mike Pozdol (-6) led the way in B Flight. Lou DeVita and Jim Foley (-4) placed second with Bob Craig and Bill Shovlin taking third place (-3). Fourth place in B Flight went to the Gary Fagan and Dennis deLagarde (-1). There was a three-way tie in C Flight with the teams of Jack Dambaugh and Larry Tedesco, Jack Law and Don Cope and Kevin Baldwin and Niels Kaas finishing with +5.