• Students compete in horticulture contest

    The third week in July every year brings youth from all over the state to the North Carolina 4-H Horticulture Contest in Raleigh. National Junior Horticulture Association (NJHA) teams who have studied and practiced identifying all types of plants and trees for the past several months compete during North Carolina 4-H Congress at N.C, State University.

  • Education briefs

    Milazzo makes dean’s list

    Benjamin Reid Milazzo, a rising senior at Appalachian State University, has been named to the dean’s list and the chancellor’s list for the spring 2011 semester. He is the son of Randy and Wendy Milazzo of Shallotte.

  • Students take part in 4-H summer camps

    Brunswick County 4-H Summer Fun Program, Passport to Adventure, has gotten off to an amazing start, organizers say.

  • Kayanna Causey earns scholarship

    The Carolinas Credit Union Foundation (CCUF) awarded Kayanna Causey of Supply a Scholar Vision scholarship. Causey, a member of LGFCU, plans to attend Southeastern Community College.

  • UNC-Chapel Hill students honored

    The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill recognized 6,405 students for outstanding academic achievement through their selection for the dean’s list for spring 2011.

  • Students earn honors, get awards at Waccamaw School

    Waccamaw School has announced its honor rolls for the fourth nine-week grading period of the school year. The following students were honored:
    Principal’s award
    Kindergarten: Jazmine Garcia, Guadalupe Nava, Hailee Townsend.
    First grade: Daelyn Fairley, Jonathan Scott, Trevor Tucholski.
    Second grade: Luis Noyola, Nathan Parker, Ashley Purcell.
    Third grade: Brody Hughes, Ashlyn Gore, Joanna Peralto, Alex Vargas.
    Fourth grade: Sandy Noyola Andrea Dutton Yuleidi Nunez.

  • Students recognized at Union Elementary School awards ceremony

    Union Elementary School recognized students at its last nine-weeks awards ceremony:
    Bus riders of the month
    Roberto Bonifacio, Christian Huffman, Garrett Ellison, Hailee Mose, Hannah Morris, Timothy Stewart.
    Principal’s award
    Kindergarten: Conner Evans, Kara Stanley, Takkirah Daniels, Trevor Gable, Hayley Buckley.
    First grade: Tyler Vogt, Megan Ybarra, Briana Todd, Mackenzie Quaintance, Jena Rubio.
    Second grade: Ingrid Ortigoza, Gage Saylor, Von Smeltzer, Karly Wallace, Presley Cerillo.

  • Students earn honors, get awards at Supply Elementary

    Supply Elementary has honored the following students for the last nine weeks of the school year:
    VFW awards
    Anna Adams, Jamie Bollinger, Cameron Broome, James Clemmons, Lasha Epps, Demontae Frink, Ashley Genis, Tiery Guzman, Megan Hall, DeAndre Johnson, Kaitlin Jones, Justin Kleino, Jessica Klock, Jayden Lance, Annika Lee, Tymber Meshaw, Jaden Moses, Brayden Murray, Kevon Myers, Antonio Padilla, Devin Pauley, Sarah Reaves, Miranda Smith, Ella Smith, Nathan Sparkman, D’miyah Stanley, Daylah Therrien, Mikyella Wells.
    Terrific Kids

  • Students win First Night button contest

    The winner of the admission button contest for Shallotte’s First Night New Year’s Eve event is Maelene Naftzger from South Brunswick Middle School. Runners-up were Makenna Jahr from Shallotte Middle School and Bailey Walker from Cedar Grove Middle School.

  • Bolivia students make honor roll, earn awards

    The following students were honored for the fourth nine-week grading period of the school year at Bolivia Elementary School:

    A honor roll